The Townhouse History
Originally known as “The Manse”, this lovingly restored Nineteenth Century Townhouse is a building steeped in history that dates back to 1870. Located in the heart of Roscommon Town, in the early seventeenth century it stood as the only unoccupied site in the square. In 1871 the adjoining plot to the Presbyterian Church was purchased from a John Burke for the construction of “The Manse” (a Scottish word meaning minister’s residence). By the 1885 it was leased to the then Catholic Parish Priest Very Rev. Thomas D. Philips who established a national school for boys in 1881 at the rear of “The Manse”. Today it stands as the heartbeat of the town. A vibrant, social one-stop shop which plays a central, sometimes indefinable role in the life of the community.